Whether you’re a new advisor to the eMoney platform or have just added a Support user to your team, you’ll want to include Sharing Rules as part of your setup process. With Sharing Rules, you can easily collaborate on plans, make your profile private, and even share your subscription to Advisor Branded Marketing (ABM) with support users.
You can access your Sharing Rules through Settings on your advisor homepage.
Share All Clients
Your first option is to Share All Clients. Sharing all clients gives a user access to all of your current and future clients’ information. In eMoney, only one advisor can own a client so this option is helpful if you’ll be working with another advisor, a planner, or an assistant on a financial plan.
You’ll see a list of all users in your office with an eMoney license. You can select individual users to share your clients with or choose All Users in My Office to grant all current and future users in your office with access to all clients.
Next, take a look at the delegation setting. If you know different team members will be responsible for tasks such as setting up client websites, you’ll want to check off the Delegate Client Management box. Delegates have additional capabilities when managing clients on your behalf, such as creating/deleting a client, setting up client websites, and managing your advisor investment assumptions.
Pro-tip: If you subscribe to ABM, you’ll use Sharing Rules to share access with Support users. Once you share all clients and enable delegation, ABM will show in the More tab of their eMoney homepage. Anything sent or shared by the Support user will appear as from the owning advisor.
Finally, you can share clients with an eMoney user outside of your office. To do so, they’ll need to provide you with their eMoney username.
One of our most common tips is to set yourself up as a client using your personal information. By doing so, you can learn how to create client connections, navigate the Client Portal, and more. However, you may not want to grant your team access to your data.
Private Clients, can hide a client to ensure that only you have access to the client’s information even if other rules indicate that the client is shared.
Individual Sharing Rules
Finally, with Individual Sharing Rules, you can allow individual users to view specific clients only. It’s important to note, you do not have the Delegate Client Management option when using Individual Sharing Rules.
Once you share a client or all clients to users in your office, the client name, and the owning advisor’s name will appear in their client list. They’ll be able to access client profiles and you can get started working together on their plan!